#MusicNews | Ivor Novello Awards Nominees Announced

Ivors award 2019.jpg

This year’s nominations for the prestigious British and Irish songwriting and composing award have been revealed.  

Congratulations to Ghetts and Kojey Radical for being nominated for Best Contemporary Song with ‘Black Rose’ which they both had co-wrote along with others.

Also congratulations to Jorja Smith and Dizzee Rascal for being selected as the nominees for the same category with ‘Blue Lights’ which they also co-wrote together along with 2 more songwriters. Another great highlight for the UK Urban scene this year! 

The award ceremony will take place on on May 23 at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London which will be sponsored by PRS For Music. 

The full list of 2019 Ivor Novello Awards nominations is as follows:


Four Out Of Five

Written by Alex Turner

Performed by Arctic Monkeys

Published in the UK by EMI Music Publishing

Nica Libres at Dusk

Written and performed by Ben Howard

Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell Music Publishing Limited

Nina Cried Power

Written and performed by Hozier

Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music Publishing – The Evolving Music Company


Black Rose

Written by Ghetts, Kojey Radical, Daniel Miles, JoJo Mukeza and Jaime Naldo Menezes

Performed by Ghetts ft Kojey Radical

Published in the UK by BMG Rights Management and EMI Music Publishing – Stellar Songs

Blue Lights

Written by Guy Bonnet, Dizzee Rascal, Roland Romanelli and Jorja Smith

Performed by Jorja Smith

Love It If We Made It

Written by George Daniel, Adam Hann, Matthew Healy and Ross MacDonald

Performed by The 1975

Published in the UK by Good Solider Songs



Written by Jax Jones and Ina Wroldsen

Performed by Jax Jones ft Ina Wroldsen

Published in the UK by Kobalt Music Publishing and Reservoir Reverb Music


Written by George Ezra Barnett, FRED and Joel Pott

Performed by George Ezra

Published in the UK by BMG Rights Management and Sony ATV/Music Publishing – Promised Land Music

These Days

Written by Julian Bunetta, Dan Caplen, Macklemore, John Ryan and Jamie Scott

Performed by Rudimental ft Jess Glynne, Macklemore and Dan Caplen

Published in the UK by Big Deal Music – Peermusic UK, BMG Rights Management, Kobalt Music Publishing and EMI Music Publishing


Cocoa Sugar

Written by Kayus Bankole, Graham Hastings and Alloysious Massaquoi

Performed by Young Fathers

Published in the UK by Just Isn’t Music Limited

I’m All Ears

Written by Jenny Hollingworth and Rosa Walton

Performed by Let’s Eat Grandma

Published in the UK by Blue Raincoat Songs

Joy As An Act of Resistance

Written by Jonathan Beavis, Mark Bowen, Adam Devonshire, Lee Kiernan and Joseph Talbot

Performed by Idles

Published in the UK by Kobalt Music Publishing


American Animals

Composed by Anne Nikitin

Published in the UK by Accorder Music - Peermusic UK

Phantom Thread

Composed by Jonny Greenwood

Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell North America Limited

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Composed by Daniel Pemberton

Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music Publishing


Flowers (Series 2)

Composed by Arthur Sharpe

Published in the UK by Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Happy New Year, Colin Burstead

Composed by Clint Mansell

Published in the UK by Decca Publishing – Universal Music Publishing


Composed by Natasha Khan and Dominik Scherrer

Published in the UK by BMG Rights Management, Du Vinage Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing


Assassin’s Creed Odyssey

Composed by Michael Georgiades, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith

Q.U.B.E. 2

Composed by David Housden

Sea of Thieves

Composed by Robin Beanland

In addition to the above categories, awards will be presented as follow:

International Achievement

Outstanding Song Collection

PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music

PRS For Music Special International Award

Songwriters Of The Year

The Ivors Jazz Award

The Ivors Inspiration Award